Proggers SHUMAUN Unveils Their Fourth Album “Opposing Mirrors” Featuring An All-Star Lineup of Drummers - Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats), Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation)


(L to R) – Tyler Kim: Guitar, Farhad Hossain: Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Jose Mora: Bass

Progressive rock band Shumaun, from Virginia, USA is thrilled to announce the release of their highly anticipated introspective fourth album “Opposing Mirrors”. This new album is chock full of the band's signature blend of melodic, progressive, and accessible rock driven by Farhad Hossain. Featuring a stellar lineup of drummers, including Thomas Lang, Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation), and Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats), the album is set to be a landmark release in Shumaun's career. Hossain comments on the album:

“The album is intended to be listened to sequentially, although there are standout singles dispersed throughout. There’s a natural flow between the songs, and the lyrics contribute to a conceptual feel. In essence, the album is kind of conceptual, and the title, “Opposing Mirrors” encapsulates this theme perfectly. Whether it’s reflecting on a loved one, an adversary, or individuals grappling to connect, the album delves into the challenges of understanding “the other” by means of self-reflection and awareness and viewing them as a mirror for oneself, fostering compassion and empathy in the process.”

Hossain continues to explain that this album is a little more explorative than their previous one. It retains their signature progressive elements but with a stronger focus on guitars with the layered vocals remaining intact. Mixed and mastered by Brett Caldas-Lima at Tower Studio in France, the album delivers a polished yet dynamic sound that is sure to resonate with fans old and new.

“Opposing Mirrors” is best experienced as a cohesive journey, with each track contributing to a thematic coherence that invites listeners to delve deeper into its rich tapestry of sound. The lyrics for this album were inspired directly by life events and the prevailing state of the world. It is recommended for fans of Porcupine Tree, Fates Warning, and Dream Theater.

“Opposing Mirrors” is due out on June 28, 2024, and available for pre-order at

Spotify -​​

Track Listing:
1. The Perils of Amnesia (8:06)
2. Balance (6:00)
3. Opposing Mirrors (4:26)
4. Anxiety and Daydreams (6:00)
5. That Which Turns (4:54)
6. Beyond Reflection (6:28)
7. Some Memories 4:10)
8. Porcelain Trees (9:26)

Album Band Lineup
Farhad Hossain — Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Jose Mora — Bass
Tyler Kim — Guitars
Thomas Lang (Tracks 1, 3, 8)
Marco Minnemann (Tracks 4, 7)
Leo Margarit (Tracks 5, 6)
Farhad Hossain (Track 2)

More info: | |

Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular