PHOBOPHILIC - Survive in obscurity


Following their recent signing to Prosthetic Records, Phobophilic are set to release their debut album, titled Enveloping Absurdity, on September 16th via the Los Angeles heavy metal label. The Fargo, North Dakota based death metal group's first full-length sees the four-piece ruminate on philosophical absurdism, existentialism and human consciousness against a backdrop of suffocatingly minacious death metal.

Across Enveloping Absurdity's runtime, Phobophilic's quest for elucidation is explored in punishingly heavy fashion across tracks such as "Those Which Stare Back", "Nauseating Despair" and "Survive in Obscurity". But for all of the Midwestern group's old school death metal artisanship and lyrical angst, there is a fundamental rejection of misplaced nihilism in the form of quieter and reflective passages throughout. No better is this showcased than mid-album track "Individuation"'s calm before the storm, which offers up Enveloping Absurdity's most contemplative moment.

Phobophilic line-up:

Aaron Dudgeon - Lead & Rhythm Guitars, Vocals

Josh Poer - Lead, Rhythm & Acoustic Guitars, Synth

Christian Alm - Bass

Vincent Tweten - Drums, Additional Percussion 

Music Videos
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment